Today I received my Maxon OD808 and ISP decimator, along with a dunlop DC power brick. I am running a Gibson Les Paul Traditional Plus into a Boss TU-2, Maxon, ISP into my Marshall JCM 2000 TSL 100, into an Avatar 2x12.

First the Maxon: I am new to overdrive pedals so I wasnt really sure what to expect. What I have been looking for is more brutalz for drop C and D standard tuning. The marshall is good but I feel its just lacking a little bit. I had been considering switching amps to something like a Peavey 6505, but even with that amp I know a lot of bands run OD's into them to smooth the gain out a bit. Well, the OD did just that. The best way I can describe it as a pedal noob is my amp still sounds like a marshall, but much creamier distortion that doesnt sound so harsh, and thus sounds a bit heavier. I am very happy with it. I do still have a bit of a gas itch for the 6505 sound but I am very happy with the Marshall as it does almost all other types of music well and this OD helps it with the metalz. The OD pedal was even more impressive when I ran it at home into my Peavey Valveking 112. I have NEVER been able to find good drop C tone from my valveking, even with an EQ pedal and a Celestion V30 speaker replacement....but within 5 minutes I had a great Bullet for my Valentine tone. I think the only reason I didnt find quite as noticeable difference with my marshall was because I was playing it in my storage unit, wearing earplugs, with the volume cranked up to around 5.