The topic: is it better to practice with your eyes closed?

I was trying to play a song that i started learning short ago. I'm far from playing it correctly, but i've been practicing it a lot.
I closed my eyes and nothing changed for a while, but i started to feel some kind of "sense", I guess it could be the muscle memory (wich I know nothing about, that's why I said "could"), or it could be that I just blazed and I'm very high (yet insightfull).

And this made me think that there COULD be some kind of benefit in practicing with your eyes closed.

Tomorrow I'll pick up a riff with decent difficulty to practice with my eyes opened and another one with my eyes closed for a few days (till weekend probably) and then I'll compare the results.
I invite you all to do the same experiment (or another one about the same topic) and share the results so we can see the average of people who find it helpfull.

Who's with me?
Real guitarists gouge their eyes out on stage, so you're theory seems viable.
Quote by Teh Forest King
A kid took a fetal pig during pig dissection, put a napkin on it as a cape, wrote "super pig" on it, then threw it out the window onto the greenhouse below, yelling "super pig, blast off!". He failed the pig lab
Quote by Colgate Total
You haven't been playing long, have you?

I started taking it seriously a few months ago, but I´ve been playing like 3 years.

EDIT: why do you ask?
I learned Plug In Baby today, and after I felt like I had memorized it properly, I tried it with my eyes closed for a few minutes, nailed it yet again, and didn't bother closing them anymore, since I got it down.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Quote by siskoX
I started taking it seriously a few months ago, but I´ve been playing like 3 years.

EDIT: why do you ask?