Hiya,

I'm curious. When I started guitar I took lessons for about 3 years but I had the feeling that I was learning more on my own, playing songs, than I ever did from lessons. The last year of those 3 I started to learn theory but I found it so un-interesting and boring that I quit lessons all together.

Now, after about a year and a half hiatus from playing music in general I wouldn't mind to really study theory (just enough so I know what I'm playing and know what would fit the note I hit, before I hit the next one). My question to the self taught bassists here is how did you teach yourself? Did you look up articles, buy books or just play along with songs until your hearing developed itself alongside your technique?

Is there any advice you can give me? I plan on becoming self taught because, even though I took guitar lessons, I know I can teach myself to play bass as I know what type of things to be wary of when it comes to false techniques. Theory is just a question of studying and applying in doses to me.

I've already found out that ''youtube teachers'' aren't the most reliable of sources (''Never ever anchor your thumb on your pick, keep your hand floating above the strings!'').

What I'm mainly interested in is the right hand. I know how I can educate my left hand to become more used to the 35'' scale and I know how I can make my muscles build up to develop more speed, but I'm still slightly clueless on what ''the right'' way of using your right hand would be. I.e do you use your index finger all the time and middle only when speed is required (16th notes for example), or do you use your ring finger aswell whenever possible?

When I was fooling around on a bass I found it easy to use all three fingers on my right hand whilst playing up and down scales and throwing in a groove with it, but I'm not sure as to if this is the ''right way to play'' because I know every finger makes a different sound.
My Gear:

Guitars:
Ibanez RG 7 EXFX (27'' scale, 2x EMG 707)