ive been playing for 2 years now, almost everyday. I am so frustrated that I can't put a whole song together. I can play some solos - can improvise a little bit - only in pentatonic scales. Im good with chords but my barre chord skills are lacking. Where do you learn how to pick up strumming techniques? How do i learn to play metal? Why cant i play sweet clapton solos ( I get the tabs then play them but they sound nothing like clapton) Sometimes i sit down to play and i feel like I just started or im like a kid picking up a guitar and just banging away
you've reached a point where you aren't learning in leaps and bounds like most beginners. this is normal. the most important thing to remember is to never give up, everyone has different learning speeds.

id say your best move right now is to keep regular practice, maybe try joining a band to get practice with other people, experiment. maybe learn some basic theory to help you along with composition, soloing, etc.

whenever im low on inspiration for songs, i listen to pandora radio. pick a band style your after and let it play, you'll be suprised the range it gives you.

EDIT: I feel like tom hess, only less annoying and cheap
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.
What does a typical day of practice for you look like? How much time? How do spend your time? When you are learning songs, how do you go about doing it? Do you break it into smaller pieces? Are you choosing songs within your reach? How much time do you give it before you quit? How do you practice improvistion? Do you use backing tracks, record your own, etc? Just trying to get an idea of what you are doing now to see if you can make it more efficient.
Quote by canyoubendthem