I was thinking of taking this old guitar of mine and trying to build an overdrive effect into the guitar itself, which could then be triggered by a switch.
I'm completely new to modding, but not to building circuits. What would be any downsides of having a small overdrive circuit + battery in the guitar?

EDIT: I'm basically trying to get rid of the need of lugging stompboxes around everywhere, except for complex effects like digital delay, flangers etc. and have one or two effects built into the guitar itself.
Last edited by CoreysMonster at Aug 12, 2009,
youd run the risk of ruining your guitar
itd probably lower the sustain (having a massive block of wood cut out of your guitar)
sounds pretty risky for someone whos completely new to modding, but i dont know anything about modding either so.
Quote by kthxbi
itd probably lower the sustain (having a massive block of wood cut out of your guitar)
sounds pretty risky for someone whos completely new to modding, but i dont know anything about modding either so.

A word of advice for the future. If you don't know about something, dont post about it! It doesn't help the OP at all and in fact it places unnecessary doubt into his mind.

TS: Putting effects into guitars is widely done by many people. Depending on the size of the cavities, you may be able to just pop the curcuit in without any routing. A simple OD circuit should be able to fit into the cavity and you may be able to fit the 9v battery in aswell. If you can build circuits then thats great. Check the size of your guitar cavities and see if you can fit it in there. If not you may have to do a bit of routing, but if you read up on it and practise on scrap, then you should be fine (or get someone with a router and experience to help you- even better)

Just pick which OD you want to put in.
It's cheaper in the long run to just have one overdrive pedal you can use with any guitar, than to have to put one in each guitar you buy.