So...

I basically had the idea to get three songs with chord progressions (tabs) in order from intermediate to difficult(weird) chords to practice chord naming. Don't give me any basic chords, I know that kind of stuff. I have to practice with chords with added notes, certain flat/sharp notes that don't belong in there and notes other than the root in the bass etc..

I am going to read a bit of the NAME THIS CHORD thread too xD

:edit:
Now that I made a thread anyway, I'm going to ask this chord name:

e----4----
B----6----
G----5----
D----x----
A----5----
E----x----
Last edited by KoenDercksen at Aug 12, 2009,
Mh, i'm NOT good at this but i wanna practice it too.
Please correct me wherever i'm wrong

Now let's see, the notes are: D C F G

1st option :

D F G C
I bIII IV bVII

Now, the D, F and C point to a Dm7
The fifth is easily dropped, so let's considered it dropped, so no A
Instead we have a G, which we could see as a 11th(4th)
So i think one correct thing to say is Dm7add11?

2nd option:

F G C D
I II IV VI

This just doesn't seem right there is no third nor fifth...
and it's suspended in the two ways. I Don't know if there is such a thing as a sus2/4

3rd option:

G C D F
I IV V bVII

mmh, G7sus4?

4th option:

C D F G
I II IV V

This is again a double suspension sus2 and sus4
or Csus2add11 or sus4add9

Help?
maybe something like: 6add9, 7(#5), m7(#5), m/M7, m/M7 (# or b 5), 11th, 13th, m9. m9add6 or add4

depends on how its used.....

could be .. Dm7b5..Bb9 (no root)...Fmi6...E7b9#5
Quote by KoenDercksen
Can anyone explain me what "minor/minor" and "major/major" chords are, or "minor/major" and "major/minor" if such a thing exists.

In MinorMajor chords the 3rd is minor but the 7th is major.

So if the root is C, CmM7 (C minor major7) would be:

C Eb (m3) G (p5) and B (M7)