Right im new to the whole electric guitar thing, but the seem to be easy to work etc Ive been playing acoustic for a while but it didnt suit my "hard rocking" so i got an Epi LP, then a crappy little practise amp which is relatively easy to work aswell.......BUT...

I dont get all this stuff about tube amps, combos and stacks. For example i have my eye on either a cheaper vox amp, a DA20 or an Orange Crush 30R - The vox being about £180 and the Orange £150 but theres also another Orange Amp Thats also a 30W called "Orange RK30C rocker combo" which cost £725, im really confused on the whole amp situation and have no idea which is the best wattages for small gigging and practice all in one which is why im sticking to 30W as that seems a reasonable price and decent size but i also dont get why the hell this second Orange is almost triple the price for the same Wattage?

Help would be appreciated greatly
When you are past the stage of noob, you then become a geek.....

Epiphones are the way forward! <3
Yeah i know, its a combo, i just need help with amps in general, like whats my best bet etc....

Your best bet at this time would probably be around a 15 watt tube amp.
breaking hearts
&
breaking guitars
Quote by Callum_29
Yeah i know, its a combo, i just need help with amps in general, like whats my best bet etc....

you get combo tube amps..
combo refers to the type of amp with both head and cab in one casing, opposed to hooking up a head to a seperate set of speakers.
tube amps and solid state amps refer to whether an amp is powered by tubes or pure circuits.
tube amps generally cost more due to superior tone (very general statement)
The Orange crush is a Solid State (SS) 30 watt amp.
The Rocker Seriese is a all Tube 30 watt amp.

The original amplifiers long long time ago were tube, solid state wasn't invented yet.
The tone of the amp comes from Vacuume tubes (also called Valves).
You get very thick rich tone from a Tube amp.