I've been playing for 8 months. Most of my "practice" consists of trying to learn songs, and messing around with some open chords. I've gotten decent at the rhythm sections of several Metallica songs, and bits & peices of various other riffs. I have not yet delved into lead & solo playing.

I would like to start focusing on learning scales, one at a time. The only ones I know now are basic pentatonic & chromatic scales.

I usually go to chordbook.com and try practicing several different scales, which ends up doing me no good because I never remember any of them.

So, what would be ONE good scale to focus on for now?
Why only one?

I remember the first thing I really did continuously and repetitively was play the Major scale up and the down guitar, most often in G because it just started and stopped at convenient frets

It helped me memorize the notes pretty well, to be honest I still mess up and play odd sharp/flat notes if I run through it in unorthodox ways, but it was just a good comfortable way to learn how to visualize the notes in advance, which helps when learning new scales
Quote by steven seagull
The major scale

This, then the minor and blues.
Eack major key has a relative minor (a minor scale which sounds good with the major scale as it has the same key signature (sharps and flats)). For example, A minor is the relative minor of C major as they both support no sharps and flats.

Best of luck.
My Last.fm
USA Fender Stratocaster | Roland Cube 60 | VOX ToneLab LE
Quote by steven seagull
The major scale
This. And don't just learn how to play it - learn it so you understand how its constructed.
Quote by zhilla
This. And don't just learn how to play it - learn it so you understand how its constructed.

+1 - If you learn the major scale, not only the patterns, but also how to use it, it will make everything else you attempt to learn easier.
Thanks for the advice so far!

Quote by voodoochild23
Why only one?