Page 1 of 2
Hey all. Im new to playing metal, though I listen to some.
Theres a band not to far away looking for a bassist. Influenced by Deathklok.
Im almost clueless as to how to get prepared to play metal. Ive got a distortion pedal, play finger style, and am pretty fluent in most other genres.
Any help?
Work on your finger speed by ALOT. Do some finger exercises that'll make you faster.
Gannon Bracewell's

Music

Page!

Check Out My Tab's as well
Root notes, 3 finger galloping, that kinda junk.
Schecter Stiletto Studio 5
Ibanez SRX2EX1
Gallien Krueger 1001rbii
Gallien Krueger Neo 410
work on your finger speed and stamina a lot (basically what everyone else was saying)
GO BRAVES
you have to play with your **** just like murderface does
FS LTD EC-50 with GFS PowerRails Bridge pickup
Just go on with your fingers, start to do some fast exercises. For example nice song for make your fingers fast is Phantom of the opera - Iron maiden. Start by training Metallica/Iron maiden songs. Do what you want I'm just suggesting !
Get a 6 string fretless and learn some Obscura.
Quote by MoogleRancha

You sir, are a genius.

I salute you.

Quote by iwontwait
The bestowing of this thread on my life is yours. Thank you, Benjabenja.
Quote by RockAddict311
You could also switch to pick.

pick is what beginner metal band bass players use. bands like slayer, trivium and bullet for my valentine. real metal uses fingers, mastodon, iron maiden, black sabbath, dream theater to name a very small few. if your good with fingers stick with fingers, it will be far smarter in the long run. just get speed up. Be prepared to be completely crushed by the mix, play the root notes of what the rhythm guitar plays, and basically just be the 3rd "less skilled" guitar player, assuming that this is a standard metal band, which i assume it is being mainly influenced by deathlock. Try to have fun
Quote by bass-boy-garith