Hey guys, I know there are 50 threads a day about this stuff, but I don't know that I have the answer I need. After reading this board for the last week or so I have officially joined the bandwagon (after trying not to) and returned my Spider III 15w today that I bought a few weeks ago.

I am a total noob to guitar, I have an Ibanez RGR421 on order and have been waiting for it for a couple weeks, so in the meantime I have been researching amps. I have literally never strummed a guitar through an amp before, but I do think this is a hobby I will stick with for a while.

I need something small, something relatively cheap (say around $300). I am willing to buy used but it's a pain up here in Canuckistan with shipping across the border. I like mostly classic rock and 80's type metal (Metallica, Megadeth, G'nR etc etc) and that is the music I will most likely start out playing, so I would like something that has some decent distortion without a pedal for now.

I have found some good things on here about the Blackstar HT-5 but I may have to go used for that.

Would I just be better off to get something like a Vypyr 15/30 being a beginner?
Last edited by potatohead_33 at Aug 14, 2009,
If you are an absolute beginner - the Vypyr. It will give you reasonable representations of amp/cab/effects (digitally modeled) everyone here talks about. That's more usefull for a beginner. And it's a decent/cheap amp to boot.
The Blackstar is an awesome budget practice amp (it'll hold it's own live with and without a mic - depending on the drums). But you need some experiece with tone and technigue to get the most of it. This amp is best when you can feel it.
You can also consider the Roland Cube series. Cheap with good tones.
Quote by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )
( . .) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
C('')('') signature to help him gain world domination.
Quote by ragingkitty