So I started playing guitar a little over a year ago, and at that point I was just playing acoustic. I've been playing electric for about 6 maybe 7 months now and I enjoy it so much that I feel that its worth putting some amount of money into. I had a Peavey Rockmaster set that had a guitar and amp that I quickly found to be too basic for what I wanted to be doing. I then invested in a Fender fat strat which I basicly fell in love with, but I still have the amp from the old guitar that can't really do anything! It's not very loud and the sound seems to be low quality. I have been reading around many of the other threads but I'm not quite sure that the amps mentioned would be right for me. So what I'm looking for is an amp that has good distortion (I'm into punk rock) AND one that could keep up with a live drummer seeing that one of my buds is picking up the drums again. My budget is relativly low ($200-$300 dollars at most) Any ideas?
The only thing I can really think of is a used Peavey Classic 30. Maybe a Valveking, but if you can find the C30 for that price, I'd get that instead.

You could also look into a used Line 6 Flextone.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
stretch the budget a mere 60 bucks and you get the excellent B-52 At112 for 360 bucks.

you won't need another amp FOR A WHILE
Quote by MatrixClaw
The only thing I can really think of is a used Peavey Classic 30. Maybe a Valveking, but if you can find the C30 for that price, I'd get that instead.

You could also look into a used Line 6 Flextone.

+1

If you had to go new, though, you could look into a Peavey Vypyr 30 or 75, or a Vox VT30. Any of them will keep up with a drummer, but the 75 will do it better.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny