I've wondered this for a while now, but thought it was too stupid of a question to ask. I am going to ask it now. Does learning songs help improve your guitar skill? I know it improves your ear, but skill wise, what does it do for you? *quickly jumps into flamesuit*
But my rub is, does it help just as much as cramming theory into your brain or memorizing chord progressions?
Could help you think a little bit differently. I'm a noob and I've been playing some real basic **** for awhile and trying to avoid tabs, but recently decided to try and learn a Hedrix song or two and it just shows me all the different things you can do with the guitar.
Quote by epiphonesg94
But my rub is, does it help just as much as cramming theory into your brain or memorizing chord progressions?

Yes, absolutely. I would say that it helps alot more actually. cramming theory into your brain without the context of what that theory is describing, is generally not all that effective.

(don't misunderstand that though.... learning theory properly, when you're ready for it, is a good thing)

Quote by KoenDercksen
It helps developing skill if you learn challenging songs, yes.

I'd say yes, even if you learn easy songs.
shred is gaudy music
Last edited by GuitarMunky at Aug 15, 2009,
Arguably your ability to play songs IS your skill, yyou certainly don't use exercises as a basis for measuring your ability with the instrument, nor your theory knowledge - those are all things you learn and do in order to improve your ability to play songs
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by steven seagull