I was wondering something (this will seem like a blog at first, but there is a point):

I've been working at a clothing store for about 9 months, and the store manager for about a year.

My first day was black friday, and there were a lot of people who were new (the entire staff quit when she got hired because they preferred the old manager, and she wanted them to quit). The holidays were really hectic and busy so a lot of people quit then, so we were really shortstaffed (like 8 or 9 people worked there. We're always supposed to have 15). It took us hours to close the store, but the store manager always assured us things would get better.

And things were good for a couple of weeks. But we get visits from people higher up (like the District Manager or once the Vice President) so whenever we don't expect them, the store starts to look like sh*t and when we find out they're coming next week we have to work our asses off. We only have 5 people working at our store right now. The past few months have just been getting more stressful. The store manager always tells me I need to work with a stronger sense of urgency....I'm sorry but I'm not the type of person to stress out about Men's jeans or Women's handbags...I mean, it's just fucking clothes, it's not like I'm a doctor. I do my job and all but I can't think of pricing t-shirts as "urgent".

So given that there's always supposed to be 15 people working and we're shortstaffed 10 people, it's hard for us to keep the store looking perfect. Ever since I've been hired there, it's always been a "rough patch". It's never really been happy times. And from what I've heard, it's been like that since our current store manager got hired.

And the store manager rarely hires people for horrible reasons (Ex. she doesn't want part-time works, which is 99% of our applications; if someone has a kid they aren't getting hired; if it's a pretty girl she isn't getting hired, etc.).