hello im getting a new guitar for my birthday but i dont really know what too look for ive got a budget of 600$ and ive been playing for 2 years now wich in the last i went to music school/academy im intometal and soloing but i want a guitar wich stil allows me to do other things
Almost any Les Paul but an Epi. Burny ones are nice.
I pick up my guitar and play
Just like Yesterday

T C Ellis Series 2 LP w/Skatterbrane Quiescence pups
Cort EVL-K6
Yamaha RGX211 modded
H&S Electric 12-string
Shaftsbury Ricki 4001
'84 Fender Yale
Roland Cube 15x

Quote by stephen_rettie
what styles?
what amp?

and was it perchance... Power Chord academy?

nope they touhgt me the entire first position and the strandard notation for it and all sorts of various chords like Am,e ano so kinde tha basic ones no barrechords(bad english here)
if you want our help as mentioned above we need to know what you play and what you are going to be playing it through.
seeing as you are new it might pay to know that this would be better suited in the electric guitar forum, or accoustic forum. if you want to ask anything about amps or pedals it is suited to guitar gear and accesories forum.
I like hollowbodies, so I would suggest a Grestch G5120 Electromatic Hollowbody Electric Guitar ($700 A little over...). If you like a silid body guitar I would suggest a Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top($550), or a Fender Standard Stratocaster HSS. ($500)

Out of every guitar I own I prefer these.
You could find a nice Schecter for under 600. Some of their newer models are pretty sick. And they sound great through almost anything. Reasonably versatile as well.
so know 2 years later im looking for a new guitar again
things i play (or atleast try): paul gilbert ,arch enemy, all that remains, all shall perish, sylosis but i also get enjoyment from clean stuff
amp: marshall haze combo 40watt
Quote by MrTshoff
You could get a sweet agile les paul

i dont really like the neck of les pauls to thick