Page 1 of 2
I'll be the first to admit, I'm only an amateur guitarist who used to play a lot, put the axe down for years and decided to pick it back up again. I'm playing in a band doing all originals and it seems that our music is a fairly good mix between clean tones and heavy distortion, switching interchangeably throughout songs. Years ago, I picked up a Gibson SG Classic w/P-90s. We've been playing live shows at clubs and the hum and buzz between riffs are just about unbearable. The SG is all I've really ever known but I do love the weight, the cut, the neck feel (compared to other guitars I've messed around with) but the buzz is driving me crazy. I realize I could switch to something with humbuckers (I have an old Epiphone Les Paul) or implement some sort of noisegate, but here's what I want you to know before I ask my question, and let's just assume we're starting at square one as if I didn't own a guitar...

- I play mostly rhythm parts, not too much lead riffs except for the occasional "dueling guitar" solos with the lead guitarist
- our songs regularly switch between clean and distortion.
- our sound has been described as rock, grunge, alternative, dash of metal
- my amplification: peavey jsx head, marshall 1960a 4x12 cab

My question to you...

Keeping in mind the points above, what guitar/set-up would you suggest? All comments and opinions welcome. Thank you. If you would like, you could even hear a sample of the music I'm talking about on our website, www.semeronmusic.com

Thanks again \m/
you should probably just get a pedal that blocks the noise or something
it would be a lottttt cheaper than getting a new guitar
but if you had to get a new one, probably a fender would do the trick
Quote by bellamy_morello
you could just buy a set of humbuckers and install them onto your SG

+1
Lets jump in a pool

Last edited by I am wet : Today at 03:26 XM.
Why not just get an identical SG only with humbuckers?