hey i've been playing for five years and i feel like a complete noob. im self taught but i've always found it difficult to learn by ear. can anyone give me some tips?
Just play what you feel, I know it seems kind of cheesy, but if you put on some music that you like, keep it low and crank the amp up and play what you hear and feel. Maybe add in some of your own flavor and viola!
Gear:
-Gibson Les Paul Studio Cherry Sunburst w/ Alnico Pro II
-1960 Yamaha Orange Sticker Acoustic
-Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401
-Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
-Blackstar HT-5RH
Start with easy stuff to figure out. Slow and only one guitar. If you learn by ear for a certain band, learn just one song with a tab because usually a band will use around the same chords for all the songs or remain in the same key or something. All you can really do to learn it is simply practice it. You can use some programs to remove vocals and slow down time so it's easier to pick up, that's what I do. But other than that I can't really offer anything. Sorry
ok thanks well ok i have another question. how can i tell what tunning A song is in any clues?
This took me a long time. I started out and still am somewhat tone deaf. If you can't tune a guitar by ear, then you'll struggle learning a song this way.

Start getting the feel for matching pitches with your guitar, in your head, and your voice.