I feel like trying something totally different from what I usually play. Since I started playing guitar 6 months ago I have just been playing Rock and Metal and I feel like expanding a bit. Trouble is, I have no idea where to go. To be totally honest, I have never heard a blues song in my life. And particular artists or songs to listen?
What is a good beginner song to try in that genre? What sort of techniques are often used? (E.g, lots of legato, bending, vibrato)
Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Whats the difference between Jazz and Blues?
Last edited by GoldfishMoon at Aug 17, 2009,
-Listen to Stevie Ray Vaughan.
-Learn the blues scale and use it to improvise over 12-Bar blues.
Quote by GoldfishMoon
What sort of techniques are often used? (E.g, lots of legato, bending, vibrato)

Most of the point of blues (and the difference between it and jazz) is to avoid this very kind of thinking and play purely by feel. Most blues players just play slow lines in pentatonic scales.

Blues is all about the feel. Don't even concern yourself with technique in the slightest.
Q: Favourite Pink Floyd song?
A: The one where they get wicked high and play Emin and A for an hour.
But if you really wanna know, Vibrato and bending are HUGE in blues. They're great ways to bring expression into your phrasing.
Quote by acdcrocks0323
Quote by mcrfobtai
I have a Pro Junior.
Almost the same thing. Sort of.

But I do love BJ's. Great amps.
Everyone likes BJ's.

EVERYONE!!!!
To some extent that's true, but if you're just starting playing blues, I'd recommend learning to play some famous blues songs, just to get a feel for it. However, what really helped me was learning em by ear, as opposed to tab. Gets you a really good feel for the songs (with the exception of certain chords and stuff).

The first blues song I learned all the way through was Pride and Joy. It worked great for me, and has so many blues associated-licks, that if you learn to play it, it'll be a huge improvement in your bluesiness.