Page 1 of 2
being a total noob and after practising some basic chords and simple riffs the last couple weeks I realize I have a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG way to go and think Im gonna return my amp and really just focus on chords, power chords, progressions, reading notation, tablature, general picking and strumming technique and be able to play some basic solos and full songs. My question is how far can i go without an amp and still be fun? I want to get a nice tube amp after i reach my above goals
el cheapo gear but it works
Last edited by SKOOBEY at Aug 17, 2009,
whats the point in returning the amp??? set it to clean and its basicly the same thing just louder :S
Quote by Archieisted
whats the point in returning the amp??? set it to clean and its basicly the same thing just louder :S

yeah...
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
You don't need an amp to play guitar, but it definitley makes it funner/easier.

Most of what I know I learned from figuring out songs on my ipod. That's fun and alot easier to do with an amp.

Plus, technique is only half of knowing how to play guitar, You also need to learn how/why different guitars/amps sound like they sound.
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Out on parole, any more instances of plum text and I get put back in...
i still fail to see how getting rid of your amp will help u learn? the amp doesnt make playing any harder or easier unless its broken