OK I've been playing guitar for about 4 years and I still really can't tell or describe the difference between a Flange effect and a Phase effect. I know, kinda sad. I know they can sound really different when you have the settings tweaked differently but sometimes they sound a lot alike too. So can anyone please explain to me how they're different?
Flanger sounds like a jet. Phaser sounds like a WHOOSHwhoosh
Quote by Rockford_rocks
HENDRIX WAS NOT MEANT TO GO WOOBLYWOOBLYWOOBLYWOOBLY!

phaser makes the tone kind of woooooooooooooossssssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhoooooooooo

flanger makes it go woooooooooooooooooooouuuuuuuuuuwwwwwwwwwwww

best i can explain

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
so a flanger has a longer sweep effect but shallower...and a phaser is quick and deep. is that right?
Quote by boboguitar

Haha, that's an awesome way to put it.

You just got sig'd.
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
Flanger is a time based effect, while a phaser is a phase based effect.

a flanger workd with very short delay times, almost like a chorus, to create a jet plane effect. IIRC, the earliest use of this was on "Bold As Love" during the Coda. he wanted to sound like he was playing under water. the engineer had two tapes running simultaneously, and he pressed on on one of the tapes to slow it down and VIOLA! the flange effect was born.

a phaser works by sweeping through the phase of the instrument's frequencies to create a swirling effect. I'm not sure where is originated, but it's been around for a while.

sound wise, a Phaser is generally warmer sounding with a darker tone, while a Flanger sounds more icy and tends to be more dramatic
Quote by patriotplayer90
Lolz that guy is a noob.

Egnater