Just going out to get my first bass today...what sort of effects might I wanna pick up?

I've been playing guitar for 6 years and have been playing bass in the church band for quite some time as well so i can play...I just have never owned one nor do I know what kind of effects to start out with Should I start with a multi-fx pedal or just some individual effects?

I play lots of rock and blues mostly but I also play some of the harder stuff (not like Meshuggah but more along the lines of Breaking Benjamin)...and I guess since I'm getting a bass now I'm gonna wanna play some funk as well.

And I have to ask (because even if something sucks it'll get an 8 on the reviews on here) is a Fender Rumble amp kinda like the equivalent of a Spider III (i.e. something to avoid like the black plague?)

Any opinions would be fantastic thanks guys
Elitists and Hypocrites
Don't buy any effects unless you know you want them, especially if you're just starting.
Quote by justinb904
im more of a social godzilla than chameleon

Quote by MetalMessiah665
Alright, I'll give them a try, Japanese Black Speed rarely disappoints.

Quote by azzemojo
Hmm judging from your pic you'd fit in more with a fat busted tribute.
Take some time to get to know the instrument, try to find some bass tones that you dig from different bass players you stumble across. As a hard rock bassist myself, I really dig the Tech 21 Sansamp bass driver, try to google it for some sound samples, it's really awesome for a rock bass tone =)

If you're into overdrive, remember when you're buying bass overdrives you have to make sure they maintain a good low end, otherwise you'll just drown sonically in a band setting.

Remember: MIDS ARE A BASSIST BEST FRIEND! (It's very subjective, but I'm serious!)

PS: First post, woo =P
You play bass now. You're too cool for effects.
Quote by CoreysMonster
Why, my pasty danish cracker, I believe you've got it!