(In)complete Idiot's Guide to VSTs and VSTis in Linux

I'm making this guide because it took me 3 days to figure out something that's really simple. Bear in mind that it may have mistakes since I'm a complete newbie regarding both VSTs and Linux.
I'm going to try to make this really simple so anyone can understand it.

I've only used really popular Linux distributions: Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron), Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope) and recently, UbuntuStudio 8.04.

I really recommend UbuntuStudio 8.04 since it's specifically designed for multimedia production. However, many people (like me) don't have DVD burners so they can't really burn the iso image. An iso image is a file that you should burn in a CD or DVD. That's all you really need to know. You can do this with a lot of programs. I used Nero, I think.
So what did I do? Well, you install Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron). Once it's installed and running, open a terminal (Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal) and type:

sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude install ubuntustudio-desktop ubuntustudio-audio ubuntustudio-audio-plugins ubuntustudio-graphics ubuntustudio-video linux-rt

There, now you've got UbuntuStudio 8.04.

Now, to be able to use VSTs and VSTis, you'll need a VST host. There are some tutorials dealing with FST host and something called savihost but I've read that DSSI VST host is way better. This is just a little research though, don't take it for granted. The problem is, you have to compile DSSI VST host, it doesn't come in a double-click-accept-it's-installed-now package.
Before installing the vst host, you need some packages installed. You should also install Wine (Applications -> Add/Remove...). (If it's not in the Repositories, go here: http://www.winehq.org/download )

After Wine's installed, open a terminal and type: (these are other packages needed to run dssi vst host)

sudo aptitude install wine-dev liblo0-dev dssi-dev libasound2-dev libc6-dev wine-dev gcc-multilib g++-multilib