Hi, I have been playing guitar for 3 years now and i used to go to lessons but i dont any more. And my teacher never once mentioned scales so i thought they weren't important. But lately I have been told that scales are vital!

Can you please explain what scales are and some good ones to learn.

Please don't call me a noob or anything I just wasn't introduced to them.

Thank you,
Rian O'Ceallaigh
"I want a drink"

"You always want something. In Tibet, if they want something...they give something away"

"Do they? That must be why they are such a dominant global power"

Brought to you by Graham Linehan and Dylan Moran
Quote by GuitarMunky

Im sorry but i didnt understand that. In normal english?
"I want a drink"

"You always want something. In Tibet, if they want something...they give something away"

Quote by BoxerLadABC
Im sorry but i didnt understand that. In normal english?

That is normal english. If you don't understand it, you need to get some more basic concepts down 1st.

Can you read music?

If not, I'd start by getting that together.

Try some of the other links above as well, maybe they will help you out.

also, I've heard great things about this book.....
http://www.amazon.com/Music-Theory-Dummies-Michael-Pilhofer/dp/0764578383
shred is gaudy music
Last edited by GuitarMunky at Aug 19, 2009,
Ive always just thought of scales as a group of notes that sound good together.
*flameshield engaged*
Ok. After 4 hours i learned at lot about music theory!
I now have the Minor Pentatonic Scale and the Major Scale (I think)
Are there any other good ones?
"I want a drink"

Quote by pwrmax
http://www.musictheory.net/

Don't skip ahead to the lessons on scales if you don't know the stuff before it.

Thank you very much for that link!
Brilliant website!
"I want a drink"

Quote by BoxerLadABC

Nope. Those are the only scales with "feeling".
Check out my band Disturbed
Quote by StewieSwan