So, today my Orange Crush 35B arrived and it has a line out, and I have Cakewalk Sonar on my computer. I tried to record earlier with one cable in the line out socket on my Orange, then with a 1/8" adapter put on and plugged into the line in socket on my PC. My bass was also hooked up to the amp (obviously), but nothing showed up while I was attempting to record. So I'm curious now if I need a DI box or not?

TL;DR: want to record bass on my computer, not sure exactly how.
I'm not entirely sure as I'm not experienced with this kind of stuff, but I think you just need a USB interface for your computer. I think.
Yeah that's the kind of thing I was thinking, but I'd suggest you wait for input from people who have done this kind of thing or explore more. I just don't want to send you off buying something when it may be the wrong thing. Also, I think DIs are more suited for hooking right into a mixer.
Something with tone shaping if it's bass>box>computer, but if you're going through you're amp too, then you can just get a basic DI.

Ibanez SR506BM
Ashdown Little Giant 1000w
Peavey TVX 115+410
A big ass upright

Look at cheap audio interfaces.
I got my TAPCO one for around £70 and I can plug straight into that.
Plus its good for recording other instruments.
thats a di box what your wanting is a usb interface
jackson dk2 2008
hamer xt sunburst qt
epiphone g400
peavey vk212
morley p wah
behringer pb1000
dige bm
big muff ny
behringer dc 9 comp
member of the Jackson/Charvel Owners Club

£8.50/58fund for a ROCKTRON HUSH SUPER C PEDAL
Before you go buying stuff...

Line out on most amps usually comes from the pre-amp, so it's quite quiet. Line in on most computers doesn't apply any amplification, so it can only work with what it gets. So if you've got a tiny faint trace in Sonar, that might be why. You could use the 'Mic In' socket - that has a modest amp.