complete idiots to you? I mean I am a noob by all means but i picked up an axe at the same time one of my buds did...i showed him drop d and ever since then he just thinks he is good enough...dude never studies any theory...never tries to read tabs to cover a song...this dude can't play one lick from any song...

its just to the point i got to vent...he can't even make a power chord for standard e shape...he blames his short fingers...but yet he can use all 4 doing some garbage but cant seem to utilize fingers 1 and 3 for a simple powerchord

he has no idea of chord progressions and hey whatever but here is my beef

he records everything on this digital recorder and is like "woooo!" after ever piece of crud he makes...he can never duplicate the slop he plays and its just frustrating...

he claims "i want to learn to play by ear" but wow he is so lost

he makes total hip hop drums on the drum machine and can't even understand tempo....he had the never to tell me TEMPO and BPM were totally different...(but wow aren't bpm's used to measure tempo? so that makes them closely related if not the same friggen thing)

OK OK OK to my question

is it hard for you to play with someone who just isn't there? He has deterred me from really approaching anyone who i know that is better than me at guitar to try and jam because i feel like they would look at me the same way...like "wow he isn't on my level this is impossible" or does that change once someone finally understands chord progressions?

i know some good guitarists and understand simple rythm so would it be miserable for them to play lead over my rythm? even though my rythms arent up to par with the crazy ones they play to, i just wanna jam with someone who knows a little somethin...