Poll: Can you sing while playing?
Poll Options
View poll results: Can you sing while playing?
Yeah! :D
26 34%
No! >:[
15 20%
Yes but not well. :/
35 46%
Voters: 76.
Hello everyone.

Im kinda new to guitar but I know chords and scales and the like and I was wondering if anyone could drop some tips on playing and singing at the same time.

A really big help would to be answer this question...
How do you do it?!

Whenever I try to sing, I always get off beat horribly, and sometimes the chord switching messes me up a bit.
Last edited by Kr0nic666 at Aug 22, 2009,
try concenrating on getting on beat then improve your singing part.............
All I can tell you is to practice. Learn the chord progression first until you can play really it well. Then learn the vocal line well, flawlessly. Then put them together. Try to concentrate on each while doing both at the same time. Once you get the hang of it tho it becomes easier each time you do it.
--------------------------------
GEAR
Guitars----
Aria:Ariana
Ibanez:RG7321
Peavey:Raptor Sig. series
Peavey:EXP Sig. series
ESP LTD: V-500
Amplifiers----
Orange 2X12 cab
Peavey: JSX
Peavey: XXL
I think that is something everyone struggles with at first. The easiest songs to sing on are the ones where the words happen on the beats. Jack Johnson is a great example of that, most of his songs are easy to sing on because the words fit the struming exactly. But as with anything else it is all a matter of practice, the guitar playing has to be done without thinking about it, when you get to the point where it is second nature to play something then the words of the song is all you have to think about.
One thing I've discovered is to simplify areas of the song that draw away from concentration. This is a lot easier to do as a bassist, because you can turn down the bass in the mix and play root notes the whole time and get away with it (not saying I do this, but it IS pretty easy).
Quote by RPGoof
I've killed many, many people.