Alright im pretty new at the guitar and im trying to learn some guitar and im pretty sure I got the modes but just making sure..

Im using C major

D dorian is a mode of C major.

E Phrygian is a mode of C major.

And you move up a note and make another major scale to get the next mode of the C major scale?

ETC
Last edited by Kr0nic666 at Aug 23, 2009,
You move up a scale degree and you use the notes from the C major scale. All of these modes have the same notes, the notes from C major (thats why they're called modes) they just start on different notes.
Quote by adrianharris7
You move up a scale degree and you use the notes from the C major scale. All of these modes have the same notes, the notes from C major (thats why they're called modes) they just start on different notes.

So like.. I'd skip a note and then end on that note?
Quote by Kr0nic666
So like.. I'd skip a note and then end on that note?

Like for a Dorian Mode of C?
C major. the notes are C D E F G A B. all natural. so C ionian is just C D E F G A B C. then D dorian is D E F G A B C D E phrygian is E F G A B C D E

But in the key of G. theres an F sharp. so the G ionian is G A B C D E F# G.
thats how i think it goes..dont quote me on it...
D Dorian is D E F G A B C, E Phrygian is E F G A B C D. They have the same notes, the notes from C major. You treat modes just like normal scales (Pentatonic etc) the only difference is that they are derived from a "mother" scale. Hope that makes sense
Quote by adrianharris7
D Dorian is D E F G A B C, E Phrygian is E F G A B C D. They have the same notes, the notes from C major. You treat modes just like normal scales (Pentatonic etc) the only difference is that they are derived from a "mother" scale. Hope that makes sense

Alright so like, C Ionian is the C major scale
(EXAMPLE: C D E F G A B C)

And Dorian is C major, but you skip C and start on D and end on a D note?
(EXAMPLE: D E F G A B C D)

Phrygian would be..
(EXAMPLE: E F G A B C D E)

That right?