Hello,

I'm no n00b to guitar repair but I'm no expert, either. I know how to adjust action but my question is what is the CAUSE of poor action?

I have two guitars whose action can't go very low without having dead frets, I'm thinking that replacing the bridges would alleviate their poor action.

Am I correct or is it a combination of things that causes poor action?

Thanks in advance!
"When ignorance reigns, life is lost."

Teh Space
Neck angle, fret level-ness (if that's a word), bridge height, etc. There are several causes for bad action.

If it's a bolt on neck, you may want to try shimming the neck before you do something like replacing it.
well it may not necessarily be the bridge. It could be the neck. If you take all of your strings off at the same time when you change them ( I have a friend who used to do that ) then it can warp your neck. Or if you change between tunings a lot. And I mean like from drop A# to standard, not drop D to standard or anything small like that. Various things can happen to warp your neck. But if it is just the bridge then you may be able to replace it to help, but generally since you can lower the action with the bridge, a new bridge probably wouldn't do much. You would put the new bridge in and lower the action with it and still end up with dead frets. Hope this helped.
equipment:
Gibson SG Special ltd.
Peavey JF2EX
Fender Kingman SCE
Vox AD30Vt
Line6 Spider III 150

Quote by Philip_pepper

Be sure to be able to recite at least one Shakespeare quote before and after each song.

Out loud, or in your head, it's up to you.
well, first of all, how good are the guitars you own?
Quote by HeretiK538
Totally awesome, I love you.

Have my children.

Quote by ndfcartman
Hello,

I'm no n00b to guitar repair but I'm no expert, either. I know how to adjust action but my question is what is the CAUSE of poor action?
You're being just a tad sloppy with the terminology.