Hey guys I just got a guitar off of a friend and I was looking at changing the strings, I was just wondering which strings I should use and how often to change them? Its a 6 string(steel) acoustic.
How strong are your fingers?
How often/long do you play?
Is there a certain sound you are looking for?
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
when its time for me to change my acoustics strings i use Ernie Ball earthwood strings they sound great! and i think ull like them
Gear
2009 Schecter Solo 6 DSG limited 1 of 50 in the USA
Ovation Celebrity
TC Electronic: Polytune
Digitech RP355 Multieffects Pedal
Quote by HeyItsChenny
thank you very much, Seaweed
Quote by guitarsftw
How strong are your fingers?
How often/long do you play?
Is there a certain sound you are looking for?

How would I go about gauging the strength of my fingers?
I play at least an hour a day but sometimes up to like 8 hours.
Im still a beginner so Im not really sure how to answer this question.
I play martin SPs they work best for me and have a really balanced sound. I like those a lot. Try Martin SPs custom lights, its a pretty start to see what you like.

But check out Phosphor Bronze strings, 80/20 bronze are really bright. Im not a fan.
But i would recommend trying different phosphor bronze and 80/20 out and see what suits your playing better.
Anyone else know much about Ernie Ball earthwood strings? They are 80/20 copper zinc. What gauge should I get?
Quote by TurntableMonkey
Anyone else know much about Ernie Ball earthwood strings? They are 80/20 copper zinc. What gauge should I get?

try 11-52 or whatever is closest to that, just to see if you can go heavier or if you should go lighter
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
I used to use D'Addario EJ16 Phosphor Bronze Light Acoustic Guitar Strings. http://accessories.musiciansfriend.com/product/DAddario-EJ16-Phosphor-Bronze-Light-Acoustic-Guitar-Strings?sku=100182