So, I'm just beginning and I've started with the song Black Hole Sun by Soundgarden. I've tuned to Drop D and I was learning (or giving it my best shot) by ear, and I got to a certain place where it's just way too awkward for me to get the notes to ring out.

I went to look at the tab to see if I was doing something wrong, but it's the second piece (31333)

e :----------------|----------------|----------------|-----------------| 
B :----------------|---------[B]3[/B]------|----------------|-----------------| 
G :----------------|-------[B]3[/B]----[B]-3[/B]--|---------1------|---------2-------| 
D :-------5-------5|-----[B]3[/B]---------[B]3[/B]|-------1-----1--|-------0-----0---| 
A :-----5-------5--|---[B]1[/B]------------|-1---1---------1|-----3---------3-| 
D :-3/5-----5-3----|-[B]3[/B]--------------|---1------------|-1-0-------------|

I was playing the F with my middle finger, the A# with my index, the next F and A# with my ring finger and the D with my pinky. It's very awkward to hold the notes this way for me, and even harder to make a smooth transition into it but I just don't see a better way to finger this.

Any advice?

Edit: formatting
Last edited by ReverendMercury at Aug 24, 2009,
e :----------------|----------------|----------------|-----------------|
B :----------------|---------3------|----------------|-----------------|
G :----------------|-------3-----3--|---------1------|---------2-------|
D :-------5-------5|-----3---------3|-------1-----1--|-------0-----0---|
A :-----5-------5--|---1------------|-1---1---------1|-----3---------3-|
D :-3/5-----5-3----|-3--------------|---1------------|-1-0-------------|

Code tags ftw.

Edit: Like many things, I'm afraid, it's just difficult but not impossible.
Last edited by blue_strat at Aug 24, 2009,
That's what I feared, haha. Thanks for the reply & the code help.

Guess I'll keep plugging away at that chord switch.
Quote by ReverendMercury
but I just don't see a better way to finger this.

Any advice?