For guitars and basses? I've never used them before, and new music for my band requires the use of picks for its effect on the timbre. Thank you!
not much, but bassists usually use a heavier pick, if they use a pick, then again thats usually
I just use a slightly heavier gauge of picks for my bass than I do guitar. On guitar I use a .73mm and for my bass I use a 1 mm.
first the boring, typical answer i've heard(not saying its right) is: light picks are easier to strum and do chord progressions are, the heavy picks are for fast strumming and whatnot. but heres my suggestion, buy one of each, find the thickness u are most comfortable with that gets the sounds ur band wants. then find the brand u like, which feels right in ur hand, they all feel different. finally, use those. theres no "right" or "wrong" pick to use, j an unconventional one. I personally use the tortex donlop 1.14 mm picks. i love them, they are thick, and they feel right to me. they are the purple ones. are the right for u? idk, try it out

btw, i use them for both my bass and electric guitars, they feel right on both. I used them on guitar before I ever started bass, and it sounded just as nicely on my bass when i started playing
Last edited by xtoolfanx at Aug 24, 2009,
I find that thinner picks give you a more high-end sound with more pick sound, it's what I tend to prefer. I use 1.2mm. Thicker picks, 2mm - 3mm+ tend to sound more solid and have a thicker timbre if that makes sense.
signature
the difference in thickness, size and shape will effect the picking dynamic, sometimes a lot and sometimes only a little

i prefer really thick stiff picks with plenty of surface area for bass
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!