To be succinct, I'm a very driven musician with boundless energy and a clear vision. I know that my biggest dream to form the next great American progressive metal band (). Problem is that I live in Wichita, Kansas...The live music scene here consists of country music, cover bands, and an endless stream of awful metal bands. I've tried on many occasions to start up a prog project here, but there's little talent, and those with it lack interest. I have the dedication, skill, and personality it takes to take a shot at living the dream, but I'm wasting all of that playing in a local metal band with 3 thirty-something guys who don't share my ambition. I'm at a point in my life right now where the only thing keeping me here is myself and it would be a shame if I didn't seize this opportunity!

So, that being said, I need to get out of this city to increase my chances of finding like-minded musicians and a more interested music scene. I'm not really sure where to go, though. Is there an area of the states that is more prog-friendly than average? I don't really even know where to go to start researching what kind of music is big in certain cities. Or where I can go to start networking with other musicians in the country (other than this message board). I guess I'm looking for any advice anyone can give me regarding this whole thing. I'm not really sure where to start in general . Any help or advice anyone can give me would be highly appreciated!

Thanks!
lots of great bands have come out of florida but i think it is kinda a dead spot in music right now sux for me

i've always herd that Seattle has a strong music scene

also San Diego has a good metal/hardcore scene, thats all i know
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Last edited by justinb904 at Aug 25, 2009,