For the last few weeks I've been looking for a new guitar for christmas. I've been playing for about 7-8 years and right now I own a SG standard, faded SG, and an ephiphone dot. The faded SG is for heavier stuff, SG standard is my main guitar for basically everything, and I got the dot for clean stuff i play but i feel as if it lacks or somethings missing in it. So lately i've been looking at two different guitars to get a really good clean sound out of (ska, and reggae) , the es-335, exact same as the dot but alot nicer, or a telecaster, the only thing is, is that i play gibson and know nothing about fender guitars and what models i should be looking at. i play all my guitars through a jcm 2000. so i guess i'm asking which is a better for clean playing the es-335 or telecaster.
I think I would go with the 335, but that's just me. Tele's are gonna sound alot twangier, but you might like that. Go try them out, see which one sounds better.
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Out on parole, any more instances of plum text and I get put back in...
i've tried both out and they both are pretty sweet, minus the price tag on the es-335. any suggestions on any model of telecaster cause i think i've only been playing the lower-mid range quality ones, and i'm looking for a guitar that i can play for a very long time and not grow out of like i did the epiphone dot. thanks for the help thought biga29
Try dropping some humbucker sized P-90s (Gibson P-94, Seymour Duncan Phat Cat, GFS Mean 90, Bareknuckle Mississippi Queen etc...) into that Dot for sweeter cleans.

¦ Epiphone Sheraton II ¦ GFS Mean 90s ¦ Ampeg J-20 ¦
¦ Fulltone OCD ¦ MXR 6-Band EQ ¦ Behringer Chorus ¦ Artec Analog Delay ¦ EHX Holy Grail ¦
Well unless you just like the twangyness a tele offers, check out a '72 Thinline. The humbuckers give it a sound a little more to my liking...

The natural finish with the pearl pick gaurd doesn't look that bad either...
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Last edited by biga29 at Aug 25, 2009,