hey guys

ive been playing guitar for about 2 years and ive stayed away from stomp boxes and effects cause ive had no real experience in em.right now i just use a boss mt2 but im planning on getting a ls 2 line selector and NT 2 noise suppressor however i do wanna get sum effect that will really spice up and scream with my solos but not sure which one cause im very inexperienced with effects.my amp does have sum effects like flanger and chorus and delay and initially i had it just on flanger (only used during solos with distortion) but now ive switched to abit of chorus.the effects are sufficient but i want to get an independent pedal that will really give me options to make that solo a little extra special.what would be better a flanger or chorus and delay?or reverb?or octave?
My Gear
Ibanez GSZ 120
Aria Pro II SL
Starfire Mega 10
Boss MT-2 Metalzone
Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor
Marshall MG100 DFX
If you're using a MG, which is a modelling amp, I wouldn't suggest external effects. It will sound crap...

:edit:
from my experience effect units always sound bad with MG's, but i dont know about the 100 watt version as you seem to have the boss hooked up to that and I dont know what it sounds like...
Last edited by KoenDercksen at Aug 26, 2009,
Most replies you get are going to be in his format. What would really spice up your solos is a new amp. The MG's distortion isn't the best. There's a thread on Marshalls in GG&A and they're really right on how the MG's distortion sounds. It's really quite lifeless and really your going to have a lot more spice in your tone with getting a new amp.
Ibanez S540

MXR EVH Phaser
Ibanez TS-9
Ibanez WD-7
Electro Harmonix LPB-1

Traynor YCS 50 Blue
Try a delay, maybe a dotted eighth? You could try using it to harmonize the notes as well.
I'd go with the delay, it makes your tone seem much more 'full' and epic if tweaked right.
ESP LTD M-100FM Tone Zone (B)/Breed Neck (N) w/ Coil Splits
Fender Electro-Acoustic
Line6 Studio UX2