Hey, i just bought a framus cobra off ebay and i was wondering what tubes suite it the best. ive heard ruby's el34 and a mix of ruby's and EH in the preamp, but i jsut wanted to get a general opinion. Im basicaly after a really thick, really gainy tight tone with lots of mids and a nice bottom end. Similar to parkway drive, and KSE. any help would be appreciated
I'm not an expert on this amp but I personally would not be going after Rubys and EH tubes. I'm sure there will be some that will dissagree with me. For thick bottom end I'd look toward JJs or Mullards and then get a mix of preamp tubes like Tung Sol, Penta Labs 9th gen, Sovtek, JJ, Mullard, etc.

If you are in the States I HIGHLY recommend emailing Doug at dougstubes.com. He'll set you strait and runs a great outfit. Very responsive.

You can also try PM'ing MatrixClaw - he may have some thoughts.

Good luck and congrats on your Amp. You should do a NAD for us.
I had one loaned to me for re-tubing it. I loaded it with rubies EL34's and a mix of EHX and Tung-sol in the pre. The Rubies seemed to take away some of the " metal snarl" it had with when it had Sovteks in it. The whole thing kinda smoothed out and actually had more of a warm vintage gain voice if you can believe that. My friend was tickled but I thought it sounded much heavier with straight Chinese AX7s and Sovtek power tubes. Wish I had more time to experiment with the beast but it made me want a Dragon to be honest. Still love the Cobra though.
7 string Legion 7 > 6 Do mosh pits warm your heart? Then become a SECOND RATE CITIZEN.....better than the worst!
My favorite EL-34s are Ruby EL-34BSTRs I think putting JJs in the power section would make it too dark, but that's up to you.

For preamps, if you want to go the easy route, Shuguang makes great sounding, cheap, 12AX7s that work well with just about everything, especially high gain amps.