Hi,

I am an electric-guitar novice and would like to take it up as a hobby. I've been researching for the right guitar and amplifier for quite some time, but there are two things that restrict considerably my choice of guitars: 1) I'm left-handed; and 2) I live in Canada; I've visited a few music stores, but they don't seem to hold a large collection of left-handed guitars, and ordering online from the United States just doesn't seem feasible because of the superfluous shipping and custom charges.

With this in mind, I began considering alternate sources to purchase my guitar. My budget ranges between roughly $700 - $1,000. I would like to play neo-classical metal, hard-rock, and blues. My favorite artists include Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Chris Impellitteri, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Buckethead, John Petrucci, and John Gilmour, so mimicking any of their sounds would be great, lol.

As I haven't been able to find a Fender Stratocaster that fits in my budget (my first choice), I've decided to purchase a Schecter guitar; specifically, a Schecter Omen Extreme without the Floyd Rose, or alternatively, a Schecter Damien 6, a Schecter Omen 6, or a Schecter 006 Deluxe. Are any of these guitars suitable for the genres of music that I wish to play? Otherwise, what would you recommend.

Secondly, I'm looking for a decent amplifier. It seems to be universally accepted that irrespective of the guitar, a sub-par amp will consistently produce sub-par sounds. Presently, I'm entertaining the possibility of purchasing either a Peavey Vypyr 30 or a Vox VT30. Which of these would be more suitable? Or, is there another amp that I might be overlooking within the same price-range?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Edit: I failed to mention that my budget of $700 - $1,000 is CDN, and is the combined cost of both the guitar and the amp.
Last edited by Stoupe at Aug 26, 2009,