Since I started playing, I've used nothing but tortex .46mm red picks. Got used them and never used anything else until today, after a trip to the music shop. Decided to investigate outside of comfort zone and got myself a .60mm and a .71mm and I have to say I was blown away. After 30mins playin with the .71 I can't even bear to play with those red ones any longer. (except for chordy songs) Been playin with the thick one now for about 3hrs total and have noticed a hefty jump in the accuracy (and therefore speed ) of my picking .................Just from changing picks!!!

I only wish I'd tried different picks sooner, but then the difference might not have been as noticable. Gonna try a few different shapes and thickness's over the next few weeks and find the perfect pick for me.
cool story, bro.
Quote by pedromiles101
you're not gonna want to take a dump in a gross, off-colored, vintage toilet. you want something that is white and pearly; something that shines. something that you can put your cheeks against and say, "f*** yeah"
try those jazz three dunlop picks--extra thick, tear-drop shaped, with a pointed tip. great for speed. awesome for artificial harmonics. i switched and my speed improved dramatically.
Yea it does help a little bit switching. I started with normal tortex yellow picks and eventually tried clayton which were around the same but I think a little better then I got metal picks (very slippery feeling on the strings it really doesn't sound good) and then I tried Jazz III picks from dunlop which were really light and fast then I went back to normal size claytons and I like them the best. Don't ask about the sizes I never check hahaha.
My Gear:
Ibanez RG-350 YE w/ Super Dist. and PAF pro pups
ESP LTD KH-602
Dean db razorback
Fender Squier Strat
Epiphone goth bass
acoustic unknown brand
Digitech Rp250
Line 6 Spider 3
Peavey Vypyr 75 watt
Quote by S. S. Drear