i have read the faq and looked at a bunch of threads, but none of them really gave me a straight answer.

now first off, let me say i have no experience at all recording. thats why im asking for help.

i simply want to record my guitar. i would like to be able to play something and listen to it later. i do not want to add any type of effects or anything to it, it sounds the way i want it to right now. i have tried the newbie idea of putting an adapter on the cable and going from amp line out to my sound card, and of course it sounds awful.

what i can't seem to find a straight answer to is, what is ideal for just recording from my amplifier? i've seen portable recorders, things like the TASCAM DP-004 pocketstudio, and microphones and input boxes and mixers and the line 6 stuff and whatnot. i have no idea what would be best for just recording a single electric guitar, and having it sound the same as when i played it.

heres what i have:
guitar+pedals+amp (which sounds the way i want it to already; amp has line out with emulated speaker cabs)
windows based computer (w/ xfi extreme gamer soundcard)
extra instrument cables
1/4" 1/8" adapter

heres what i was looking at:
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Tascam-DP004-Portable-4track-Digital-Multitrack-Recorder?sku=250011
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Tascam-US144-Interface-and-990991-Mic-Pack-Bundle?sku=241736

the reason i was looking at these 2 things is not because i know how good they are or because i know they can do what i want (i specifically do not know about the aforementioned qualities), but cause they are at the top of my price range and they seem to have good reviews.

for 200$ (or less) what is ideal for just recording my guitar so that i can listen to it later? should i get a mic? if so, what do i need to plug it into? will that work with my computer? should i get a portable recorder?