Hi, I'm a complete beginner to the guitar world, and have managed to get myself a bit stuck. I bought a cheap guitar from a Charity Shop a few years ago - it was a spur of the moment purchase, and I didn't really know anything about the different types of guitar. It duly ended up under the bed for a couple of years, and now I've rediscovered it, and am determined to learn to play.

The problem is, I'm fairly certain that I bought a Classical Guitar. I have no interest in playing the types of music best suited to it, and I would ideally like to learn to play more popular rock/pop songs on it (i.e. Oasis, Coldplay, that sort of thing, at least to begin with). To make matters worse, the neck is too wide for my fairly small hands - fretting top and bottom strings is almost impossible. Also, three strings are nylon, and three are steel, which makes it sound unbalanced - the nylon strings are dull and muted, while the steel ones overpower them.

I really need some advice from more experienced players. Will I be able to play the style of music I want on the Classical guitar, or am I better off simply buying a regular acoustic? None of the chords sound right, most of which may be down to my poor playing, but I don't thing the different strings are helping either - or does the different style of guitar make things sound different? Is it worth simply replacing the strings with a compete set? I prefer the sound of steel, and the pain doesn't really bother me.