So I've been playing guitar for a while but only a year ago did I start practicing and playing seriously. Since then I started practicing daily alot but mostly sitting down, and just a couple weeks back I joined a band and whenever we practice and I play standing up I cant do the same things I do when sitting down, it seems like picking hand is less accurate and I feel some stress on my fretboard hand, is this from bad posture? lack of practice standing up? should I start practicing standing up even though I cant play as fast, acuratly and cant do as big a stretches?
It could have to do with the height you have your guitar when standing up. Alot of players find they can't do the same things standing up as they can sitting down, and this is usually do to the height of their guitars. You could try that.
John Petrucci puts his left foot on a raised platform thing when he plays difficult passages, he says its to put the guitar in the same position that he practices in. Maybe try that?
its probably because you just aren't used to standing up.

i try to practice like 50%standing 50% sitting
GEAR

1976 Gibson SG
Epiphone Les Paul 100
Takamine GS330S Acoustic
Crate 65 watt
Crybaby classic wah
raise your strap to the height that you have it sitting down, then just slowly lower it just like when you're gradually increasing the metronome speed, and you'll get used to it. Practice standing up a bit more, liike what rocnroll4ever93 (aah i had to type all that) said
If you're going to be playing stuff that involve fast playing and wide stretches standing up, I suggest you raise your guitar a bit.
you will notice a lot of guitarists like Megadeth's other guitarist, forget his name, wheres his guitar up on his chest... now i find this to be a bit extreme but it works
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!