I love death metal, I think it takes a huge amount of technicality and skill to play, not to mention it's an absolute blast to listen to. However, I can't quite... play it.

I've been playing for about 3 years now. As far as the riffs go, they're very spastic, all over the place, and my problem... picked very fast. I can tremolo pick fast and even, but when I slow it down to alternate picking I'm very slow.

How do I get my chops up for such speed and technicality? I've been playing for about 3 years, not really serious though. I need some sort of regimen, or something to practice, so I can get faster and faster and be able to tackle the songs I feel I should be able to play.
My gear
Ibanez RG7321
Jackson Warrior WRXT *FS/FT*
Jasmine J35
Squier Fender P-Bass
Ibanez TBX150H
Crate 4x12
Fender Rumble 60

Part of UG's 7 STRING LEGION
I got the same problem bro, but I'm too lazy to solve it really
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
umm yea death metal sucks
Gonna make the mountains be my home....

"A box of rain will ease the pain and love will see you through"-Robert Hunter
I learned some Opeth stuff, just the rhythm, and I felt that helped me improve ALOT on my speed and technicality.

Heir Apparent is one I'd recommend, really fun to play
HOWAYA LUV ;D

BUGERA USERS MILITIA
Quote by ripdime04
umm yea death metal sucks

I wouldn't say suck...different genre from what you're use to so when venturing outside of ones genre they tend to lean towards the hateful side...but it's all opinion
Gear
Ibanez GSA60
Jackson DXMGT
Schecter Hellraiser Tempest
Ibanez S470 DXQM
ESP LTD Deluxe EC-1000
Crate Halfstack and Crate 50W Tube Head
Boss MT-2, CH-1, CS-3, NS-2, & Cry Baby
Crate XT65R
There's no miracle formula you can apply here mate. Practice, Practice, Practice. Slow down the songs/riffs you want to play, learn the crap out of them, then gradually speed up.