I'm looking for a specific sound so please if you can help me out. I've been playing the drums for 15 years and want to start playing the guitar, b/c I have all these songs in my head and learning the guitar is the only way to get them out of me. What I really want is a 7 string for a nice low crunchy sound. I don' t know if i'll need an amp or not? I don't plan on playing infront of anyone anytime soon, I was just hoping i'd be able to plug into my computer or something. My style is mostly metal, kind of like Meshuggah style, or what ever people call it.. djent sound?

So if anyone could help me out picking out gear/software it would be real nice. I'm looking to spend ~$2k-3k.

I've also been told that starting off on a 7 string is hard and isn't the best idea, but I really don't want to spend money on a 6 string, then switch to a 7. I'd rather just learn on a 7.

I hope this is the right forum for this, if not please excuse me.
$1000 Schecter Hellraiser
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Schecter-Hellraiser-C-7-FR-7-String-Electric-Guitar-515884-i1424448.gc
$500 Peavey Vypyr 100W
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Peavey-Vypyr-100-100W-2x12-Guitar-Combo-Amp-104922885-i1413608.gc

I dont know a lot about recording and stuff. But u will still have about a K for mics and software. I wish i had that kind of budget!!!
Gear:
Alesis Multimix 8 USB 2.0
Alesis DM6
Two Colling's acoustics (my dad's)
Ibanez SoundGear bass
Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue
Ovation 12-string (also dad's)
Sony 5.1 system
Wow, 2-3 grand, that's certainly something to work with. I say get an amp. With cash like that you can get something seriously banging, not to mention there is no other feeling like cranking up your amp and laying down a riff.