Don't you guys worry that people will steal your riff or your lyrics when posting them? I'm new to the guitar scene (a few months) but i've been writing for years. I'm sure its like a code or something that people wouldn't do it....anyway first post and I was curious. Please don't flame, it was just for my own peace of mind.
i've thought of the same thing, but at the same time i'm also afraid that people will think that w/e riff or chord progression i write sucks too bad to be plagerized.
well technically,
if you post it.
you have proof that it was your idea first,
so it is your intellectual property.
though its still a tough case if you don't get it copywritten.

Flam·boy·ant
French, from participle of flamboyer to flame
1:Characterized by waving curves suggesting flames
2:Marked by or given to strikingly elaborate or colorful display or behavior

Quote by soulflyV
What is 'plagerism'?

Aside from this incredibly pointless and unfunny response, let's post something to actually help: I just use myfreecopyright.com to get a copyright on my tabs before I post them so I don't have to worry about them being taken and if they are taken and I find out about it I have a defense to stop them from keeping it lol.
Quote by Morve38
Aside from this incredibly pointless and unfunny response, let's post something to actually help: I just use myfreecopyright.com to get a copyright on my tabs before I post them so I don't have to worry about them being taken and if they are taken and I find out about it I have a defense to stop them from keeping it lol.

Wasn't meant to be funny. I asked what 'plagerism' was.
Plagiarism by a big artist = Good Publicity

As long as you have proof you did it first, you can try poor man's copyright.
I'm afraid of this too, but then I think, there are so many tabs and lyrics, that it would have to be one amazingly great and influential piece to be copied by someone and used as a song that would actually be heard by a good amount of people.
Gear: