Hey guys, i've recently picked up the Bass guitar for my band and am actually really enjoying it. My inspiration is Justin Chancellor from Tool, i like the way he plays and the sound he gets, and i really like that u can hear the bass along side the guitar and not behind it (except when the music calls for it).

Im currently a poor college student but me and my band are VERY serious about what we do, which means investing money......Im working on getting a better job which means i'll be getting around $15 an hour.

I was wondering what Bass amp i should invest in that will give me some great sound tweaking options (so i can find "my sound") as well as not put an earth size hole in my wallet ^^.

I've looked at GK as well as Line 6 in store, but the GK was not the model i wanted and i think it was busted cause i couldnt get any of the knobs to really do anything except get REALLY loud....even when it was all the way down.

I've told you about myself and my wants, any suggestions or comments?
I also am very inspired by justin, This is one of the coolest bass players that can play bass lines in key with the guitar, without just playing root notes following the guitar.

Anyways, i suggest getting a Mark Bass head, with your choice of cab.

A single large speaker is going to get you deep boomy bass tones, while you can still do this with combo speakers, you tend to get a better "slap bass" trebly sound when you use combo cabs.

I'm saving up for a markbass head, and a 4x10 cab, or a 8x10 cab.

You really wanna focus on the head I think, speaker cabs vary, but heads are the important part.

Also remember, dont rely just on your amp to get you the tones that you want - When playing bass, multi-effect pedals are a definate plus.

Ive been playing on a solid state amp with only 2 pedals (one DI, and one distortion) for about 2 or 3 years, and I just got a Multi effects pedal and it has tweaked my sound ALOT.
I definatly recommend one.