Hey guys, I normally dont venture in this forum... but I figured I need some help. Ive pretty much hit a wall with getting better. Ive been playing for probably five years now, and within the last year, I really have not seen any improvement in my technique at all. I can play Metallica and most metal rhythm all day, but when it comes to soloing, I cant get out of the pentatonic or minor scale style that sounds like Kirk Hammett. I want to get better at leads, and I cant. Ive tried sweeping, and every time I do, I just get frustrated and quit trying to learn, and Im not sure if its a skill I will ever pick up. But I would like to learn some more scales, ascending and descending runs, and mainly getting out of that god forsaken box. Are there any exercises, links, or songs you guys could recommend me to check out to try and get out of this rut? Ive looked around on the web and all the metal style licks are either sweep picking or in the style of Kirk Hammett it seems. Thanks for any help.
get a teacher maybe. or just learn seomthing fun. when i felt like this. i just boke down they main skills and stopped learning songs for a year and just learned the skills needed to play songs// if that makes sence. i took parts from songs and practiced them knowing that they would improve my picking. and they did.
my advice, no what you wanna get better at and pratice that. just focus on it.
Find a good metal theory book for all type of metal... Learn some Steve vai or rusty cooley I you're up to it
Learn some blues, look up Marty Friedman's melodic control video if you didn't already.
Practice makes perfect with sweeping. I already got it down, i've been playing just as long as you, but I never really cared about soloing till recently, now I'm stumped with understanding half the tutorials on UG.
Guitars:
LTD Viper 300FM
Jackson DX10D
MIM Tele
MIM Strat
Amps:
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe - Stock Eminence Legend
Peavey Ultra Plus 120 Watt Head
Rivera R412T - Loaded with Celestion V30s