I've been playing for about 8 months and my $100 Ibanez starter is sounding more and more like a toy every day.

I play all sorts of stuff, mostly rock, blues, jazz, progressive, jam band type stuff.

Is this guitar overkill for a noob?
Nah it will do you for a while, one of the best Singlecuts out there, I'd get it. PRS are great for every genre of music.

longing rusted furnace daybreak seventeen benign nine homecoming one freight car
It's fine to get it, as long as you know yuo're gonna be playing guitar for a long time. It's a really nice guitar by the way, get tobacco sunburst!
Quote by The Chimney Man
It's fine to get it, as long as you know yuo're gonna be playing guitar for a long time. It's a really nice guitar by the way, get tobacco sunburst!
Not worried about that, I'm in it for the long haul
Quote by eyeplayguitar
I've been playing for about 8 months and my $100 Ibanez starter is sounding more and more like a toy every day.

I play all sorts of stuff, mostly rock, blues, jazz, progressive, jam band type stuff.

IMO that's impossible, there is no such thing as having a guitar that is to good for you. If you can get it and you like it, then by all means get it.
The Temonti sig is $522, other single cut SE Customs are just over $600. Very good guitars for the money. I just wish they would incorporate the coil taps that the US models have.

It's not overkill, it's a fine instrument that will help keep you playing more each day. Good gear does that, which makes you a better player.

What amp do you use?
I wondered why the frisbee was getting bigger, then it hit me.
There is not such thing as overkill with guitars. My great-uncle had a collection of guitars worth roughly $90,000 around the time he died, and now its worth about 150k, and it wont ever be sold, which makes me happy for some reason. But I digress...

Get the SE. It's a good guitar and will serve you for a long time
My name is Collin, please feel free to use it