I have been working on tremolo picking for the past week and I can get most of the way through misrilou cleanly at tempo, but something has occurred to me. I think I am doing it wrong.

When I am trem picking on the low E I have my hand off the guitar and I am pivoting on my elbow. It is pretty easy and i can get very fast this way, but when I switch to the high e i have to rest my palm on the strings and I pivot at the wrist. I figure that only one of these ways is correct and I must be doing it wrong. As far as picking goes I am good, I have a 45 degree angle of attack and it flows smooth except on string transitions where my start can be rough.

So, my question is two fold;

Am I supposed to anchor my hand? And on the low E where should I anchor it?
And am I supposed to use my elbow or wrist?

I have also had trouble with gallop picking, but my guess is that as soon as I figure this out galloping will come too.
Quote by Evil_Magician
Get the pink one.

Perforation of women guaranteed.
pretty much whatever works for you is fine, if you hit a snag you will have to change, but the generally accepted method for fast picking is to pivot you're wrist not elbow.

and by gallop picking if you mean the triplets separated by rests (or something like 2 16th's and an 8th) for that the general method for picking is a downstroke then up then down, down, up, down, down, up, down, etc.

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
I'm using gallop as a blanket term for the rhythm breakdowns you see in metal that have trem picking in them. dun dun dugagadun dun dun dugadgadun. If that makes any sense. I cant switch from regular down strokes to the burst of trem picking and back and keep rhythm while muting the strings. It always sounds like crap.

Where should I anchor my hand if I am trem picking on the lower strings? On the high strings i just let my hand mute the other strings and use the as an anchor, but that doesn't work for the E A and D.