I've been playing guitar for a little over a year and I still have not learned to notes on the fretboard.

I can't just pick a fret, a string and say that a {insert note}. I can figure it out but it takes a minute or two.

I want to know if their is a certian way to do this.
I've been playing for 2 years, and I can only remember the notes of the bottom two strings. From there, I use the octave trick- up 2 strings and 2 frets, and you have the same note

for example, 5th fret on the low E string is an A. Up 2 strings and 2 frets, 7th fret on the D string will also be an A.

This changes to 3 frets when dealing with the D and G strings, and the top E is of course the same as the bottom E. I HOPE that helps..
Quote by Blckspawn
I've been playing guitar for a little over a year and I still have not learned to notes on the fretboard.

I can't just pick a fret, a string and say that a {insert note}. I can figure it out but it takes a minute or two.

I want to know if their is a certian way to do this.

years of experience. Learning to read in all positions is a good way to truly know the fretboard.

Unless your talking about a general/fuzzy overview......it takes time, more than a year.
shred is gaudy music
Teach yourself the basic patterns.

Start with Octaves and 5ths. They are easy.

The 5th is 2 frets ups on the next string down or working the opposite way it is the same fret 1 string up. (3 frets up between 2nd and 3rd)

Then learn where a 3rd is, then minor 3rd.

These patterns will allow you to figure any interval.

As for actual note names, this is not all that useful, but if you learn the 5th and 6th string you can use the intervals to figure the rest.
I would argue that knowing actual note names is rather important and useful.

Please tell me how you know what key you are in?

"Oh, I'm in Major 3rd, Perfect 5th, Minor 6th, Major 7th?"

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
Quote by Invokke_Havokk