Hey guys, I just started playing bass and it ain't half bad since I did use to play guitar so I know what I'm doing to a degree. However, what I'm wondering is if any of you guys have come across any website or material on the internet that shows you common bass chords, or scales. I'm also looking for the platonic bass scale as well, because one of my friends says I should look into that first since I mostly do rock sort of things. If any of you can share, thank you very much.
check the lessons on this site. thats why we have a lesson section
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/bass_lessons/

specifically check the lessons in there entitled, "bass lesson # _______"

EDIT: and by platonic i assume you mean "pentatonic"?
Quote by Diet_coke_head
Hey! Now you can molest you're grandma and she won't remember! Score!!!

Gear:
Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass
Fender V Jazz
Ashdown MAG 410
EH Bass Big MUff
MXR Bass Octave Deluxe
Digitech Synth Wah
The same scale and chord theory applies to all instruments.
Chords are the same on bass as on guitar but may sound muddy if played on thicker strings closer to the headstock (relatively). Scales can be googled and found in lessons, columns, etc. on this site.
Platonic bass scale eh...?

Well I guess those jazz musicians do REALLY love their instruments...

Anyway, in my experience (I also transitioned form guitar to bass) everything I knew about scales carried over, they just got shorter...

And as far as playing chords goes, anything other than arpeggios would be suicide... And in that case, I just use the scales to form them, yeah?

Just know your notes, and start stacking m3+M3 etc.

Honestly, if you play rock, unless it's really old school rock, you won't really worry about that...

But props to your for caring about theory, even if you want to be 'just friends' with it...
Heh heh my bad i typed platonic, yes laugh it up that was stupid.