I have a new MIM Fender Deluxe Active Jazz bass. For an active bass, I find the output very weak. My Ibanez SRX590 (also active) sounds 10 times louder.

Is there anything that can be done to crank up the output of my Jazz bass? New active electronics, pickups, ... ?
And yes, there's a new battery in it, so that's not the problem!
I know you said you've put a new battery in it, but do the 'tongue test' just to be sure it works. Apart from that, try raising the pickup height. I dunno what else to suggest.
yeah pickup height. I have the mim active p bass and I need to up the onboard preamp quite a bit as well to keep up with my sr volume wise.
Quote by UraniYum
Fuck you I'm trying to be caring and shit

Quote by Cb4rabid
Okay guys, I have a confession to make. Not really a confession since it's something that's been bugging me for awhile but I've always been in denial about it.

**** you gilly, it's not what you think
OK, raising the PU's. I'll try that, I've never done that before. I assume not to raise them to much?

Quote by gilly_90
yeah pickup height. I have the mim active p bass and I need to up the onboard preamp quite a bit as well to keep up with my sr volume wise.

Gilly_90, how high did you raise yours?
Quote by BassRookie
OK, raising the PU's. I'll try that, I've never done that before. I assume not to raise them to much?

Gilly_90, how high did you raise yours?

Yeah not much at all.

I'm not sure 1mm maybe 2? somethung like that. Just raise it a little bit them try it. Do that a couple of times. You'll know if it is too high.
Quote by UraniYum
Fuck you I'm trying to be caring and shit

Quote by Cb4rabid
Okay guys, I have a confession to make. Not really a confession since it's something that's been bugging me for awhile but I've always been in denial about it.

**** you gilly, it's not what you think
Quote by Deliriumbassist
You do know the tongue test can kill people?

I know, but that's the fun of it.
Quote by gilly_90
Yeah not much at all.