My coworkers got me a PS3 and a few games a while back (they are all gamers and wanted me to conform I guess ) and all it does is gather dust. I am a newb and I currently have one guitar, a Fender Telecaster Standard, and thought that getting rid of the PS3 on Craigslist would be a great way to get a second guitar. So I offered to sell the system and the games or to trade them for an electric guitar. Some of the offers were pure junk, but two of them peaked my interest.

1. Epiphone 62' Reissue SG with Gibson Humbuckers....he would also throw in an amp but didn't say type/brand/etc....
(Invalid img)

2. Fender Stratocaster (not Squire) with Sustain pickup....
(Invalid img)

My first instinct if to jump at the Fender, but being a newbie I don't know if there is something about Epiphone that would make me want to trade for that instead. Like I said, I am just starting out (learning my blues scales now) but really want to learn more jazz and blues and maybe some folk.

Based on this, which would you get?
Last edited by scopaeniform at Sep 2, 2009,
First off, do you have an amp you're happy with? If you don't then it's a better purchase than a second guitar.

Personally, I'd say the Strat. Just because I have a thing for strats and the sustain pickup sounds interesting. Your choice though.
If you dont have a good amp then go for a decent amp first

thats where most of your tone comes from

but if you do have a good amp then get the strat,the sustainer will help with your blues playing and your jazz playing (alot longer notes)
Guitars:

1998 Squier Affinity Stratocaster

Amps:

Peavey Valve king 112

Money is just paper, but it affects people like poetry.
Damn that's a hard choice. They'd both have awesome clean tone, but the SG would be a lot thicker sounding (I think).

Ok two things to check out: What type of amp with the Epi, and what exactly does he mean by sustain pickup on the Fender. That info should help your choice a bit more.